Colorado high school football championship games moved to CSU-Pueblo

For the first time in state history, all seven of Colorado’s high school football championship games will be played at one venue — the Neta and Eddie DeRose ThunderBowl at CSU-Pueblo.

CHSAA and Pueblo-based Friends of Football announced plans Wednesday to host the games Dec. 3-5 in Pueblo.

“This is an opportunity to showcase all seven levels of football — from schools with 30 students to schools with more than 3,000 — on the same field on the same weekend,” CHSAA assistant commissioner Adam Bright, who oversees football, said in a news release. “This will be a great culminating event to this football season.”

The games will be spread out over three days, with the schedule as follows:

  • 6-man and 8-man games — Thursday, Dec. 3, at 2 p.m. and 6 p.m.
  • 2A and 4A games — Friday, Dec. 4, at 2 p.m. and 6 p.m.
  • 1A, 3A and 5A games — Saturday, Dec. 5, at 10 a.m., 2 p.m. and 6 p.m.

CHSAA was forced to look for other venues to host the 4A and 5A title games after COVID-19 restrictions made playing the contests at Empower Field at Mile High financially untenable for the Colorado Sports Hall of Fame — the games’ traditional presenter.

The CHSAA Board of Directors approved the Pueblo venue unanimously during a meeting Tuesday night.