Dodgers’ Mookie Betts adds another Silver Slugger award to his trophy case – Press Enterprise

Dodgers’ Mookie Betts adds another Silver Slugger award to his trophy case – Press Enterprise

Mookie Betts is going to need to expand his trophy case.

Two days after being awarded his fifth consecutive Gold Glove for defensive excellence, the Dodger was named a Silver Slugger Award winner as one of the three best offensive performers among National League outfielders.

The Silver Slugger is Betts’ fourth in the past five seasons and the fourth time he accomplished the Gold Glove-Silver Slugger double in the same season.

Betts is the 20th player in Dodgers history to win a Silver Slugger award since its inception in 1980. He is the sixth player in franchise history to win both a Gold Glove and Silver Slugger in the same season, joining Cody Bellinger (2019), Matt Kemp who did it twice (2009 and 2011), Adrian Gonzalez (2014), Russell Martin (2007) and Dusty Baker (1981).

In his first season with the Dodgers, Betts finished among the National League leaders in hits (64, tied for 10th), runs (47, fourth), batting average (.292, 16th), on-base percentage (.366, 17th), slugging percentage (.562, 13th), OPS (.927, 13th), total bases (123, seventh), extra-base hits (26, tied for 13th), steals (10, tied for fifth) and home runs (16, tied for third).

Here is the full list of 2020 honorees:


Catcher: Travis d’Arnaud (Atlanta Braves)

First Base: Freddie Freeman (Atlanta Braves)

Second Base: Donovan Solano (San Francisco Giants)

Third Base: Manny Machado (San Diego Padres)

Shortstop: Fernando Tatis Jr. (San Diego Padres)

Outfield: Juan Soto (Washington Nationals), Mookie Betts (Dodgers), Ronald Acuña Jr. (Atlanta Braves)

Designated Hitter: Marcell Ozuna (Atlanta Braves)


Catcher: Salvador Perez (Kansas City Royals)

First Base: Jose Abreu (Chicago White Sox)

Second Base: D.J. LeMahieu (New York Yankees)

Third Base: Jose Ramirez (Cleveland Indians)

Shortstop: Tim Anderson (Chicago White Sox)

Outfield: Mike Trout (Angels), Teoscar Hernandez (Toronto Blue Jays), Eloy Jimenez (Chicago White Sox)

Designated Hitter: Nelson Cruz (Minnesota)