England reveals its new lockdown tiers for parts of the country

England heard its lockdown fate on Thursday when the Tiers areas were revealed from December 2.

Most areas will be dealing with the higher tiers meaning they will still face a ban on households to mix indoors, and a range of pubs will only be able to offer takeout or close altogether.

A cabinet meeting of the Welsh government will be held in Wales on Thursday to consider any regulations that may be needed in the run-up to Christmas in Wales, with ministers scrutinizing what is happening in England.

A postcode check shows that London and Liverpool have avoided Tier 3 after a decrease in infections, as well as lower hospital admissions.

They will instead be subject to Tier 2 restrictions, which close pubs unless they serve meals and order people not to meet other households indoors.

However, Greater Manchester, where Labor Mayor Andy Burnham waged a bitter battle with the government against the introduction of strict restrictions, appears to remain in Tier Three. The full list is at the bottom of this article.

Level 2

  • You are not allowed to mix households indoors, other than auxiliary bells, with a maximum of six households outdoors.
  • Pubs and bars will remain closed unless operating as a restaurant, and alcohol will only be served as part of a “substantial meal” until 10pm, before the venues are due to close at 11pm.
  • All retail, leisure and personal care services can be reopened.
  • People will be encouraged to reduce the number of trips they take and avoid traveling to Tier 3 areas, except for education or employment reasons.
  • Overnight stays are only allowed for those who are in the same household or support bubble and accommodation can be opened.
  • Places of worship can reopen, but people should not interact with anyone outside of their household or support bubble.
  • Fifteen guests are admitted to weddings and societies, up to 30 for funerals.
  • Classes and organized sports can take place outdoors, but not indoors if there is interaction between two different households.
  • Major events, including sports and live performances, are open to the public, but limited to 50% capacity or 2,000 outdoors and 1,000 indoors.

Level 3

  • Groups of six can only meet in public outdoor areas, such as parks and sports fields, but not in private gardens.
  • The catering industry is closed in these areas, except for take-away meals.
  • Indoor entertainment venues – such as cinemas, theaters, bowling alleys and casinos – will remain closed.
  • People will be told not to leave the area other than when necessary and to reduce travel.
  • Overnight stays outside the area are not allowed, except for work or training, where the accommodation remains closed.
  • Weddings and partnerships can resume, but with just 15 guests, increasing to 30 for funerals. Wedding receptions are prohibited in level 3.
  • Places of worship can reopen, but people should not interact with anyone outside of their household or support bubble.
  • Classes and organized sports for adults can take place outdoors, but people are advised to avoid higher-risk contact activities.
  • Elite and live sports are still banned, but drive-in events are allowed.

Bristol is subject to Tier 3 restrictions.

Darren Jones, Labor MP for Bristol North West, tweeted: “I’m not surprised that Bristol will be in Tier 3 until December 16.

“We have great local public health and NHS leaders and we have to follow the rules.

“However, we urgently need economic support, especially for the Bristol hospitality industry, which is still closed.”

There was anger in the House of Commons that the details had been published on the zip code checker site before British Health Secretary Matt Hancock made the statement at 11:30 am.

Some MPs said they should have heard it first, pointing out that the website had crashed because it had so many people on it.

The prime minister, who will hold a televised press conference on Thursday at 5:00 pm, told Conservative MPs that the new measures would be “very tough”.

This is the complete list

Level 1: medium warning

South East

South West

Level 2: high warning

North West

  • Cumbria
  • Liverpool City Region
  • Warrington and Cheshire


West Midlands

  • Worcestershire
  • Herefordshire
  • Shropshire and Telford & Wrekin

East Midlands

East of England

  • Suffolk
  • Hertfordshire
  • Cambridgeshire, including Peterborough
  • Norfolk
  • Essex, Thurrock and Southend on Sea
  • Bedfordshire and Milton Keynes


  • all 32 boroughs plus the City of London

South East

  • East Sussex
  • West Sussex
  • Brighton and Hove
  • Surrey
  • Reading
  • Wokingham
  • Bracknell Forest
  • Windsor and Maidenhead
  • West Berkshire
  • Hampshire (except the Isle of Wight), Portsmouth and Southampton
  • Buckinghamshire
  • Oxfordshire

South West

  • South Somerset, Somerset West and Taunton, Mendip and Sedgemoor
  • Bath and North East Somerset
  • Dorset
  • Bournemouth
  • Christchurch
  • Poole
  • Gloucestershire
  • Wiltshire and Swindon
  • Devon

Level 3: warning very high


  • Tees Valley Combined Authority:
    • Hartlepool
    • Middlesbrough
    • Stockton-on-Tees
    • Redcar and Cleveland
    • Darlington
  • Northeast Combined Authority:
    • Sunderland
    • South Tyneside
    • Gateshead
    • Newcastle upon Tyne
    • North Tyneside
    • County Durham
    • Northumberland

North West

  • Greater Manchester
  • Lancashire
  • Blackpool
  • Blackburn with Darwen

Yorkshire and The Humber

  • The Humber
  • West Yorkshire
  • South Yorkshire

West Midlands

  • Birmingham and Black Country
  • Staffordshire and Stoke-on-Trent
  • Warwickshire, Coventry and Solihull

East Midlands

  • Derby and Derbyshire
  • Nottingham and Nottinghamshire
  • Leicester and Leicestershire
  • Lincolnshire

South East

  • Slough (Rest of Berkshire is Level 2: High Alert)
  • Kent and Medway

South West

  • Bristol
  • South Gloucestershire
  • North Somerset