How MPs voted as new coronavirus restrictions passed by Commons

MPs have approved the Covid-19 regulations that will implement three levels of restrictions in England as of Wednesday.

The vote was 291 to 78, a majority of 213, and came after Labor abstained.

The decision was taken tonight after hours of debate in the House of Commons.

The new scheme will enter into force on Wednesday.

In total there were 53 Conservative MPs who voted against the Covid-19 restrictions.

They were joined by 15 Labor MPs, eight DUP members and two independent MPs.

The restrictions will put 99 percent of England in the strictest Tier 2 and Tier 3 restrictions.

The levels are reviewed every two weeks. Boris, Mr Johnson, has also promised MPs a new vote on whether or not to keep the entire system after Feb. 2.

See which MPs from your region voted no:

Conservative MPs

The 53 Conservative MPs who voted against the Covid-19 restrictions were listed as: Adam Afriyie (Windsor), Imran Ahmad Khan (Wakefield), Graham Brady (Altrincham and Sale West), Andrew Bridgen (North West Leicestershire), Paul Bristow (Peterborough)), Christopher Chope (Christchurch), Greg Clark (Tunbridge Wells), James Daly (Bury North), Philip Davies (Shipley), David Davis (Haltemprice and Howden), Jonathan Djanogly (Huntingdon), Jackie Doyle-Price ( Thurrock), Richard Drax (South Dorset), Iain Duncan Smith (Chingford and Woodford Green), Mark Francois (Rayleigh and Wickford), Marcus Fysh (Yeovil), Cheryl Gillan (Chesham and Amersham), Chris Green (Bolton West), Damian Green (Ashford)), Kate Griffiths (Burton), Mark Harper (Forest of Dean), Philip Hollobone (Kettering), David Jones (Clwyd West), Julian Knight (Solihull), Robert Largan (High Peak), Pauline Latham ( Mid Derbyshire), Chris Loder (West Dorset), Tim Loughton (East Worthing and Shoreham), Craig Mackinlay (South Th anet), Antho ny Mangnall (Totnes), Karl McCartney (Lincoln), Stephen McPartland (Stevenage), Esther McVey (Tatton), Huw Merriman (Bexhill and Battle), Robbie Moore (Keighley), Anne Marie Morris (Newton Abbot), Robert Neill (Bromley) & Chislehurst), Mark Pawsey (Rugby), John Redwood (Wokingham), Mary Robinson (Cheadle), Andrew Rosindell (Romford), Henry Smith (Crawley), Ben Spencer (Runnymede & Weybridge), Desmond Swayne ( New Forest West), Craig Tracey (North Warwickshire), Tom Tugendhat (Tonbridge and Malling), Matt Vickers (Stockton South), Christian Wakeford (Bury South), Charles Walker (Broxbourne), Jamie Wallis (Bridgend), David Warburton (Somerton) and Frome), William Wragg (Hazel Grove) and Jeremy Wright (Kenilworth and Southam).

Labor MPs

The 15 Labor MPs who ignored the party abstention orders to oppose the regulations were: Apsana Begum (Poplar and Limehouse), Richard Burgon (Leeds East), Mary Kelly Foy (City of Durham), Andrew Gwynne (Denton and Reddish), Mike Hill (Hartlepool), Kevan Jones (North Durham), Emma Lewell-Buck (South Shields), Ian Mearns (Gateshead), Grahame Morris (Easington), Kate Osborne (Jarrow), Bell Ribeiro-Addy (Streatham), John Spellar (Warley), Graham Stringer (Blackley and Broughton), Zarah Sultana (Coventry South), and Derek Twigg (Halton).

Former Labor party leader Jeremy Corbyn, currently an independent MP, also opposed the measures, along with Julian Lewis (New Forest East), a former Tory sitting as an independent member.

The eight DUP MPs who opposed the measures were: Gregory Campbell (East Londonderry), Jeffrey M Donaldson (Lagan Valley), Paul Girvan (South Antrim), Carla Lockhart (Upper Bann), Ian Paisley (North Antrim), Gavin Robinson (Belfast East), Jim Shannon (Strangford) and Sammy Wilson (East Antrim).

A government spokesman welcomed MPs who voted to approve the new tiered system to replace England’s national lockdown and said the ministers will work with those who have raised concerns.

He said: “We welcome tonight’s vote endorsing our winter plan, ending national restrictions and returning England to a layered system.

“This will help safeguard last month’s gains and keep the virus under control.

“We will continue to work with MPs who have expressed concerns in recent days.”