How to be 'hidden' on WhatsApp
Euro News

How to be 'hidden' on WhatsApp

With its ease of use and offering free video, text and voice chats to friends all over the world, WhatsApp is one of the most popular messaging apps.

It’s why more than two billion users enjoy its services.

And if you use it, more than likely you know the basics down, but there are a number of handy features you might not be aware of, reports The Mirror.

We have all sent a message to someone giddy in anticipation of a reply, only to then feel the sting of the passive aggressive two blue ticks: we can see they’ve read the message but they’re taking their time replying.

That’s why one of the of best tricks allows you to tweak your privacy settings so your contacts won’t be able to see when you were last online.

WhatsApp’s “online” feature is set to default, and tells your contacts if you’re online.

WhatsApp explained: “If a contact is online, they have WhatsApp open in the foreground on their device and are connected to the internet. However, it doesn’t necessarily mean the contact has read your message.”

Meanwhile, the “last seen” refers to the last time you used WhatsApp.

By default, WhatsApp sets your privacy settings to allow any contact see to see your read receipts, last seen, about and profile photo.

However, you can change these settings, meaning your friends won’t be able to see when you were last online.

This is what you do:

  1. Open WhatsApp on your smartphone
  2. Tap the settings icon in the bottom right of the screen
  3. Tap account
  4. Tap privacy
  5. Tap “last seen”, then nobody
  6. You can also toggle off read receipts at the bottom of the screen.

There are a few important bits to remember:

  • If you don’t share your last seen, you won’t be able to see other people’s last seen.
  • If you turn off read receipts, you won’t be able to see read receipts from other people. Read receipts are always sent for group chats.
  • If a contact has disabled read receipts, you will not be able to see that they have viewed your status update.

While there’s no official way to hide when you’re online, there’s a sneaky workaround for iPhone users on iOS 13.

Wait for a message to arrive on your iPhone, so a notification appears in your lock screen. Press down on the notification, and the full text will appear – you can scroll down to see the message in full.

Best of all, while you will have read the message, it won’t trigger the blue ticks, or show that you were online.

.

mm
Nicole Benitez
Nicole Benitez is the author of our Euro News section. As the world awakens to a new dawn idea, a lot of fake news and misconceptions are communicated to the public when there is no need! For all our clarifications and Europe related policy decisions, Nicole is who we rely on. Her eloquence when debating issues plaguing Europe will leave you starstruck!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *