Marcus Rashford named on prestigious Football Black List 2020

Marcus Rashford’s tireless campaign to tackle childhood food poverty has earned him a place on the prestigious Football Black List.

The Manchester United and England forward made the 2020 list – which celebrates the positive influences of the black community in the sport – for his work in successfully lobbying the government for an expansion of the free provision of school meals.

The Football Black List was founded in 2008 by Rodney Hinds and Leon Mann and its members are selected by an expert panel from the black community and the football industry.

It aims to celebrate the pioneers who work on and off the pitch in football, from the professional level to the grassroots game.

Other players joining Rashford on the list include Crystal Palace goalkeeper Chloe Morgan, for raising awareness of black containment and LGBT + representation in the women’s game and Aston Villa defender Tyrone Mings and Watford’s Troy Deeney for challenging racial injustice.

Crystal Palace attacker Wilfried Zaha earned his place for his efforts to support nurses during the coronavirus pandemic.

Co-founder Hinds said: “Once again the Football Black List has exposed many in the community who are doing a great job.

“Marcus Rashford’s efforts are to be commended alongside the others on the list who do their business for the benefit of others.

“After a year full of challenges, it is great to find inspiration.”

Edleen John, the Football Association’s co-partner for equality, diversity and inclusion, Villa Women sporting director Eni Aluko and QPR’s football director Les Ferdinand appear in non-playing parts of the list.

Football Black List 2020: Winners in full


Chloe Morgan – Crystal Palace Women
Marcus Rashford – Manchester United and England
Troy Deeney – Watford
Tyrone Mings – Aston Villa and England
Wilfried Zaha – Crystal Palace and Ivory Coast


Edleen John – Director of International Relations, Business and Diversity, Football Association
Eni Aluko – Sporting Director, Aston Villa Women
Jade Morgan – Managing Director, Leicester Women
Les Ferdinand – Director of Football, QPR
Marie Gabriel – Chairman, West Ham United Foundation

Coaching and management

Alex Dyer – manager, Kilmarnock
Ashley Boasah and Cornelius Nwadialor – Joint Managers, Tooting and Mitcham
Jason Euell – under-23 head coach, Charlton
Karleigh Osborne – women’s head coach, Brentford
Tony Whelan – Assistant Academy Director, Manchester United


Ashanti George-Faure – Senior Talent Manager, Refresh Sports
Faina Msellam – Member of the Sports Industry Advisory Board, Birkbeck Sport Business Center
Marvin Morgan – General Manager, Fresh Ego Kid
Nathan Thompson – Commercial Director, West Ham
Warren Haughton – Director, Haughton Consultancy

Community and grassroots

Diane Sawyers – operations manager, Holford Drive Community Sports Hub
Duke Harrison-Hunter – Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Agent, Pompey in the Community
Emma Trent – Head of Programs, Notts County Football in the Community
Harold Bennett – Founder, North London Limited
Dr. Michael Seeraj – Head of Equality, Diversity and Inclusion, Charlton
Annette Nelson – Education Director, Football v Homophobia
Carl Anka – football reporter, The Athletic
Charlene Gravesande – journalist for special projects, Sky Sports
Hugh Woozencroft – sports channel, talkSPORT
Jessica Creighton – sports reporter, Sky Sports
Micah Richards – freelance broadcaster


Hayley Bennett – Founder, WeAreNutmegs
Jason Lee – Equality Education Director, Association of Professional Footballers
Marvin Robinson – General Manager, Peterborough United Foundation
Dr Matt Ogunsanya – Club Doctor, Watford
Sam Allison – Referee of the National Group, Professional Game Match Officials Limited