Mookie Betts wins fifth consecutive Gold Glove in first season with Dodgers – Press Enterprise

Mookie Betts changed teams and leagues. But his glove stayed golden.

Betts was named the National League’s Gold Glove award winner for right field following his first season with the Dodgers. It was Betts’ fifth consecutive Gold Glove award, a streak that started in 2016 with the Boston Red Sox (his second full season in the majors).

Cody Bellinger was also a finalist for the Gold Glove Award in center field, but that award went to San Diego’s Trent Grisham. Bellinger won a Gold Glove as a right fielder in 2019.

This year’s awards were based strictly on the SABR Defensive Index, which combines two types of defensive metrics – those derived from batted ball, location-based data and those collected from play-by-play accounts including data from Statcast, Sports Information Solutions and STATS, LLC.

In the past, voting by managers and coaches determined the winners along with a statistical component. Because of the short season and regional schedule in 2020, there was no voting.

Betts is the ninth Dodgers outfielder to win a Gold Glove award – Bellinger (2019), Matt Kemp and Andre Ethier (2011), Steve Finley (2004), Raul Mondesi (1995 and 1997), Dusty Baker (1981), Willie Davis (1971-73) and Wally Moon (1960).

In 52 games in right field this season, Betts had a .966 fielding percentage with four errors while finishing first in UZR (Ultimate Zone Rating), range factor and DRS (Defensive Runs Saved).

Betts is the 30th outfielder since the award started in 1957 to win five or more Gloves and is the first outfielder to win at least five consecutive Gold Gloves since Ichiro Suzuki won each year from 2000 through 2010.

Also Check:  As former Avs defenseman Kyle Quincey’s toddler son battles brain cancer, hockey world rallies to offer support

A pair of Southern California products were among the other NL winners: Colorado Rockies third baseman Nolan Arenado (El Toro High) won his eighth in a row and Atlanta Braves pitcher Max Fried (Harvard-Westlake) won his first.

Here are all the winners:


American League: Evan White (Seattle)

National League: Anthony Rizzo (Chicago Cubs)


AL: Cesar Hernandez (Cleveland)

NL: Kolten Wong (St. Louis)


AL: J.P. Crawford (Seattle)

NL: Javier Báez (Chicago Cubs)


AL: Isiah Kiner-Falefa (Texas)

NL: Nolan Arenado (Colorado)


AL: Alex Gordon (Kansas City)

NL: Tyler O’Neill (St. Louis)


AL: Luis Robert (Chicago White Sox)

NL: Trent Grisham (San Diego)


AL: Joey Gallo (Texas)

NL: Mookie Betts (Dodgers)


AL: Roberto Pérez (Cleveland)

NL: Tucker Barnhart (Cincinnati)


AL: Griffin Canning (Angels)

NL: Max Fried (Atlanta)