Sebastian Lletget will miss Galaxy finale to join U.S. men’s national team – Press Enterprise

Galaxy midfielder Sebastian Lletget will join the U.S men’s national team in Cardiff, Wales, in preparation for a pair of upcoming friendlies.

Lletget will miss Sunday’s regular-season finale against the Vancouver Whitecaps.

Lletget is the lone MLS player that U.S. coach Gregg Berhalter called into camp. Initially, no MLS players made the roster. Berhalter said he didn’t want to interrupt MLS teams and their preparation for the upcoming playoffs.

With 14 appearances for the U.S., scoring a pair of goals, Lletget will replace forward Josh Sargent, who was forced to withdraw due to quarantine regulations from Werder Bremen, his Bundesliga club.

The U.S. will face Wales on Thursday and Panama on Nov. 16.

The U.S. didn’t meet during the October international dates and canceled games due to COVID-19 concerns. This November camp was targeted to be in Europe with all European-based players.

“We are excited about getting this group back together,” Berhalter said. “I’m proud of the way the players have handled the challenging times. We have built a solid foundation, and now we get a chance to continue our work together ahead of what is going to be a critical 12 months for our team.”

Here is the roster for the upcoming camp and games:

GOALKEEPERS: Ethan Horvath (Club Brugge), Chituru Odunze (Leicester City), Zack Steffen (Manchester City)

DEFENDERS: John Brooks (Wolfsburg), Reggie Cannon (Boavista), Sergiño Dest (Barcelona), Matt Miazga (Anderlecht), Tim Ream (Fulham), Chris Richards (Bayern Munich), Antonee Robinson (Fulham)

MIDFIELDERS: Tyler Adams (RB Leipzig), Johnny Cardoso (Internacional), Richard Ledezma (PSV Eindhoven), Sebastian Lletget (Galaxy), Weston McKennie (Juventus), Yunus Musah (Valencia), Owen Otasowie (Wolverhampton)

Also Check:  Jared Walsh rises as bright spot in Angels’ lefty woes

FORWARDS: Konrad de la Fuente (Barcelona), Nicholas Gioacchini (Caen), Christian Pulisic (Chelsea), Uly Llanez (Heerenveen), Gio Reyna (Borussia Dortmund), Sebastian Soto (Telstar), Tim Weah (Lille)