Two nations axed from travel corridors list and 10 more places added

Two more countries have been removed from the list of countries from which travelers do not need to isolate themselves.

Estonia and Latvia have been removed from the list of travel corridors, Transport Minister Grant Shapps said tonight.

People arriving in the UK on Saturdays from 4am will therefore need to isolate themselves for 14 days.

Ten other places have now been added to the list: Bhutan, East Timor, Mongolia, Aruba, Samoa, Kiribati, Micronesia, Tonga, Vanuatu and the Solomon Islands.

The travel ban for people coming from Denmark has also been lifted.

However, the country remains outside the list of travel corridors.

Government regulations state that people do not need to isolate themselves when traveling to England from any of the countries, territories or regions on their list.

However, you must have spent the last 14 days in one of these places or in the UK.

If you have been anywhere in the 14 days prior to your arrival in England that is not on the list, you must isolate yourself. Visiting involves making a transit stop.

It comes as it was revealed that strict coronavirus restrictions will continue to apply to more than 55 million people in England, even after the national lockdown lifts on December 2.

Only the Isle of Wight, Cornwall and the Isles of Scilly – accounting for just over 1 percent of the UK population – face the lightest Tier 1 restrictions.

Speaking at a press conference in Downing Street, Prime Minister Boris Johnson said: “I am sorry to confirm that most of England will be in the top two tiers from Wednesday, with the toughest measures.

“And I know this will cause a lot of grief and frustration, especially for our vital hospitality industry.”

In level 1, the rule of six applies indoors and out, people are urged to work from home when they can and pubs are limited to table service.

In Level 2, the restrictions include a ban on households to mix indoors, while pubs and restaurants are only allowed to sell alcohol with a “hearty meal”.

Level 3 measures prohibit the mixing of households, except in limited circumstances such as in parks.