Where is still on the safe travel list after quarantine changes

Another four locations have this week been stripped from England’s safe travel list – meaning when you return from them you will have to self-isolate for 14 days.

It also means the Foreign and Commonwealth Office advice for travel to those countries has changed – probably invalidating your insurance.

And companies are likely to scrap flights and package deals – meaning even if you want to travel, and risk an insurance free break, you probably won’t be able to.

But there are still a number of locations on the exemption list – meaning travel is allowed and there will be no quarantine.

The Government has made it clear this list can change at my time with a few hours notice until the new rule applies.

Here’s the full list of countries still exempt from England’s quarantine rules:

  • Akrotiri and Dhekelia
  • Anguilla
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Australia
  • the Azores
  • Barbados
  • Bermuda
  • Bonaire, St Eustatius and Saba
  • British Antarctic Territory
  • British Indian Ocean Territory
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Brunei
  • Cayman Islands
  • the Channel Islands
  • Cuba (added 4am, 29 August 2020 – if you arrived in England from Cuba before 4am 29 August you will need to self-isolate)
  • Curaçao
  • Cyprus
  • Denmark
  • Dominica
  • Estonia
  • Falkland Islands
  • Faroe Islands
  • Fiji
  • Finland
  • French Polynesia (will be removed from this list at 4am Saturday 12 September 2020)
  • Gibraltar
  • Germany
  • Greece (except the islands of Crete, Lesvos, Mykonos, Santorini, Serifos, Tinos and Zakynthos)
  • Greenland
  • Grenada
  • Guadeloupe
  • Hong Kong
  • Hungary (will be removed from this list at 4am Saturday 12 September 2020)
  • Iceland
  • Ireland
  • the Isle of Man
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Macao (Macau)
  • Madeira
  • Malaysia
  • Mauritius
  • Montserrat
  • New Caledonia
  • New Zealand
  • Norway
  • Pitcairn, Henderson, Ducie and Oeno Islands
  • Poland
  • Portugal (will be removed from this list at 4am Saturday 12 September 2020 – Azores and Madeira will remain on this list)
  • Réunion (will be removed from this list at 4am Saturday 12 September 2020)
  • San Marino
  • Seychelles
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • South Korea
  • South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands
  • St Barthélemy
  • St Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha
  • St Kitts and Nevis
  • St Lucia
  • St Pierre and Miquelon
  • St Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Sweden (will be added to this list at 4am, Saturday 12 September 2020 – if you arrive in England from Sweden before 4am, 12 September, you will need to self-isolate)
  • Taiwan
  • Turkey
  • Vatican City State
  • Vietnam